The New Orleans Track Club

New Orleans' premier running organization
promoting health and fitness since 1963

107th Jackson Day Race Results

9K (5.6 Miles)

Sunday, January 12, 2014, 8:30 AM

Old Spanish Fort to Jackson Square, New Orleans, LA

Presented by Jacobs Engineering Group, Inc.

Beautiful and sunny weather greeted race participants on Sunday, January 12th at the 107 Annual Jackson Day Race 9K, the South's oldest road race and the fifth oldest road race in America. Beginning at Old Spanish Fort, race participants made their way along the 5.6-mile historic course to Jackson Square where they enjoyed a spectacular block party on Toulouse St. with pasta, jambalaya, bananas, hot dogs, Bakermaid king cake, Elmer's Chee-Wees, soda, and Crescent Crown beer.

Ian Carr was the first male to cross the finish line in 29:30, with Michelle Hymel taking first female honors for the second year in a row in a time of 34:38. Both runners were recipients of the Louis deLassus Awards, a special award given to the first male and finishers holding NOTC membership. Phil Jones received the Dr. Pat Award as the first male masters NOTC finisher (34:51) and Team Southern Runner captured the team competition.

Questions or comments about these results? Contact

9K Award Winners

Place Male Age Time Female Age Time
Louis deLassus Awards
Ian Carr 23 29:30 Michelle Hymel 29 34:38
Dr. Pat Award Team Award
Phil Jones 58 34:51 Team Southern Runner
1 Ian Carr 23 29:30 Michelle Hymel 29 34:38
Youth (15-Under)
1 Bryant White, Jr. 15 33:59 Sydney Lee 14 45:42
Master (40-Over)
1 Phil Jones 58 34:51 Caroline Smith 42 38:04
Grandmaster (50-Over)
1 Ken Mire 64 37:35 Jacki Meriwether 50 43:27
Senior (60-Over)
1 J. Roger Brown 65 38:35 Cynthia Martin 65 59:08
Age Group 15-Under
1 Samuel Kellum 12 43:18 Madison Boudreaux 15 46:15
Age Group 16-19
1 Matthews Vargas 17 33:21 Victoria Sacco 19 56:48
Age Group 20-29
1 Allerton Sean 29 30:47 Bree Strenkowski 24 34:42
Age Group 30-39
1 Brendan Minihan 38 32:46 Connie Lizotte 36 37:37
Age Group 40-49
1 Jeff Chalmers 42 35:37 Kristin Depp 41 44:10
Age Group 50-59
1 James Boudreaux 57 37:50 Linda Akhter 55 46:21
Age Group 60-69
1 Terry J. Puglis 62 44:20 Susan Norwood 67 59:40
Age Group 70-Over
1 Craig Sherman 74 46:36
Overall Racewalker
1 William Phelps 69 1:03:02 Pat Driscoll 60 1:00:58

Presenting Sponsor


The 106th Annual Jackson Day Race is presented by Jacobs Engineering Group Inc., one of the world's largest and most diverse providers of professional technical services. With 2011 revenues of over $10 billion, Jacobs offer full-spectrum support to industrial, commercial, and government clients across multiple markets. Services include scientific and specialty consulting as well as all aspects of engineering and construction, and operations and maintenance. Read more...

Race Administration

The Jackson Day Race is owned and produced by the New Orleans Track Club, a not-for-profit organization and a member of the Road Runners Club of America (RRCA) and USA Track & Field (USATF). For more information contact the NOTC via email at or phone 504-304-2326.